An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Foxtrot III Benefits the Wounded Warrior Project

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Jorge Intriago
  • 169th Fighter Wing
     The third Foxtrot Warrior Run was held at McEntire Joint National Guard Base, S.C., Sept. 8, 2012. 120 runners consisting of Airmen, spouses and dependents supported the Wounded Warrior project, an organization that raises awareness and enlists the public's aid for the needs of injured service members. 
     Rising to the challenge over a drill weekend, Senior Airmen Matthew Dick and Samuel Lee, Radar Maintainers with the 245th Air Traffic Control Squadron, volunteered and organized the Foxtrot. "There were no plans to hold it this year due to deployments but 120 participants came to support the race which has grown over the last two years," said Senior Airman Dick.
     The Foxtrot run was sponsored by FNH USA, Earthfare, the South Carolina National Guard Federal Credit Union, Wood Forest Bank, Custom Embroidery, Sumter Living Magazine and the Chief's Council. The sponsors donated monetarily and Earthfare donated the fruit and water for the race. The cost was $15.00 for each runner which included their t-shirt and donation to the fund raising event. All donations from the sponsors and the race competitors were donated to the Wounded Warrior Project.
     Senior Airman Dick commented, "We had great feedback from everybody this year and hope to make it more fun next year."

The Top Three in each age group category:

Male Over 40
1st Place - Bib # 11 - Senior Airman Millard Morgan - 26m 46s - 169th CES
2nd Place - Bib # 502 - Lt. Col. Jeffrey Smith - 26m 51s - 169th MDG
3rd Place - Bib # 23 - Lt. Col. Butch Bowers - 31m 06s - 169th FW

Male Under 40 
1st Place - Bib # 536 -  Maj. David Way - 21m 46s - 157th FS
2nd Place - Bib # 79 - Lt. Col. Walter Kucaba - 23m 05s - 169th MDG
3rd Place - Bib # 35 - 1st Lt. Chris Spotts - 24m 42s - 245th ATCS

Female Over 40
1st Place - Bib # 89 - Airman 1st Class Laura Fleenor - 31m 15s - 169th SFS
2nd Place - Bib # 4 - Staff Sgt. Veretta Dye - 38m 40s - 169th FW
3rd Place - Bib # 78 - Master Sgt. Tarah Bjaaland - 45m 03s - 169th MDG

Female Under 40
1st Place - Bib # 63 - Tech. Sgt. Caycee Watson - 29m 53s - 169th FW
2nd Place - Bib # 68 - Maj. Misa Cadua - 31m 36s - 169th MDG
3rd Place - Bib # 67 - Staff Sgt. Sherryl Linkous - 37m 09s - 169th MDG